Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award

The Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award, established by a generous gift from Madhu and Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, seeks to recognize Emory University's international alumni who are highly distinguished either nationally or internationally in their business, profession, or life’s work, and who have made outstanding contributions to humanity, science, art, or human welfare.

Learn about the award criteria >>>

2019-20 Recipient: Mabel Magowe, 08PhD

Dr. Mabel Magowe earned her PhD from the Emory University School of Nursing in 2008. She is currently the Deputy Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Botswana.

She has worked as a nurse and midwife providing clinical care to patients in hospital, clinic and home settings. She has served in several reference committees, technical working groups and task forces in government policies and programs for maternal and child health and family planning. Dr. Magowe was among the first people trained in all these areas and became trainer of trainers. She had an added role of developing and implementing training curricula for nurses and midwives. These included development and review of family planning policies and procedure manuals, review of midwifery curricula, review of the Botswana obstetric record that captures all information about a woman through all stages of pregnancy and childbirth, development of a post abortion care training program, development and review of the Safe Motherhood initiative program and emergency obstetric and neonatal care (EMONC) program, development a national program for prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV program (PMTCT).

Dr. Magowe teaches several courses in the School of Nursing at the University of Botswana including HIV and AIDS Prevention and Control, and Midiwfery courses. She has served as external examiner for Nursing, Midwifery, Critical Care Nursing, Community Health Nursing, Leadership and Management and Nursing education for several Universities including Sefako Makgatho Memorial University of Health sciences in Tshwane, South Africa, University of South Africa, National University of Science and Technology in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, and Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences in Tanzania.

Dr. Magowe has served in Nursing and Midwifery regulation in different capacities, including interim committee for the first draft of the review of the pre-independence Nurse and Midwives Act of Botswana. She has served as a member of the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Botswana in 1995-2000, as chairperson of the registration committee. Since 2012, she has served as a member of the QUAD, consisting of the Ministry of Health (office of the Chief Nursing Officer), Regulation (The Registrar of The Nursing and Midwifery Council of Botswana), the professional Association (Botswana Nurses Union President) and Education, for which she represented the University of Botswana, as an initiative of Emory University funded by Centers for Disease Control in the US, working in collaboration with the East, Central and Southern Africa College of Nursing (ECSACON). 

In 2018, Dr. Magowe represented the University of Botswana in the Association of African University where she served as part of the adjudication team for 12 West and Central African universities that applied for grant funding under the World Bank for the Africa Centers of Excellence for Development Impact (ACE Impact) Project, which aims to improve the quality, quantity and development impact of postgraduate education in selected universities through regional specialization and collaboration.

2018 Do Mai Hoa 02MPH
2017 Kwadwo Sarpong 15C
2016 Brett Pyper 00G
2015 Joy Lawn 00PhD
2014 Umesh Parashar 96MPH
2013 Young-Ihl Chang 87G
2012 Leila McWhinney-Dehaney 06PhD
2011 Josep Call 97PhD
2010 Lado Gurgenidze 93MBA
2009 Han Wan-Sang 67PhD
2008 David Tkeshelashvili 06LLM
2007 Shariffa Al-Jabri 98MS
2006 Manfred Asamer 86MBA
2005 Moses Nayenda Katabrawa 97MPH
2004 Hamish W. Taylor 84MBA
2003 Eugenia Maria del Pino Ventimilla 72PhD
2002 Hong Koo Lee 59C