Creekmore Award for Internationalization

Nominations for the 2018 Marion V. Creekmore Award are now open! 

Submit a nomination >>

The Marion V. Creekmore Award is given each year to an Emory faculty member who excels in the advancement of the University's commitment to internationalization. The award was established by the generous gift of Claus M. Halle and honors the work of Marion V. Creekmore, who served as Emory University's inaugural vice provost for international affairs and first director of The Claus M. Halle Institute for Global Learning.

2017 Recipient: K. M. Venkat Narayan

K. M. Venkat Narayan, MD, MSc, MBA, is Ruth and O.C. Hubert Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology in Rollins School of Public Health, professor of medicine in the Emory School of Medicine, and director of the Emory Global Diabetes Research Center. He is regarded as a national and international leader in chronic diseases and in translational research. Prior to August 2006, he was Chief of the Diabetes Epidemiology and Statistics Branch at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and led a number of large U.S. national epidemiological, health service research, intervention, and economic studies. Dr. Narayan was an intra-mural scholar at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases for four years with the Pima Indian Study of diabetes, where he completed the first diet-exercise intervention study in that population. He designed and led the TRIAD Study, a multi-site cohort study of diabetes quality of care and outcomes, and is a collaborator with the SEARCH Study, another multi-site study of diabetes in children. He directs The Emory Global Diabetes Research Center.

2016 David Nugent
2015 Jeffrey Koplan
2014 Henry Blumberg
2013 Peter Brown
2012 Jagdish Sheth
2011 Lynn Sibley
2010 Alfred W. Brann, Jr.
2009 Juliette Stapnanian Apkarian
2008 Reynaldo Martorell
2007 Carlos del Rio
2006 Abdullahi An-Na'im
2005 Ivan Karp
2004 Thomas F. Remington
2003 H. Kenneth Walker
2002 Kenneth W. Stein
2001 Howard A. Rollins
2000 Marion V. Creekmore