Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award

The Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award, established by a generous gift from Madhu and Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, seeks to recognize Emory University's international alumni who are highly distinguished either nationally or internationally in their business, profession, or life’s work, and who have made outstanding contributions to humanity, science, art, or human welfare.

2020-21 Recipient: Henry Haipeng Zhang (Feng Tang), 00MBA

Dr. Henry Haipeng Zhang (known to readers as Feng Tang) is a Senior Managing Director of CITIC Capital, Head of Healthcare Group, Co-Chairman of Centurion Hospital Group, and a director of So-Young International Inc. Prior to his current positions, some former roles of Feng Tang include the CEO of China Resources Healthcare Group Limited, the General Manager of Strategy Management Department of China Resources (Holdings) Co. Limited (CRH) and a global partner of McKinsey & Company.

In addition to being a business professional, Feng Tang is a novelist, poet, and calligrapher in China. He has published twenty books: six novels, two collections of short novels, eight collections of essays, three collections of poetry, and one translation of poetry. His notable works includes “Beijing Trilogy” (i.e. “Beijing, Beijing,” “Give me a Girl at Age Eighteen,” “Everything Grows”), “Oneness,” “No Woman, No Cry,” “One Hundred Poems of Feng Tang,” “All Three Lines,” “Aging,” and “Getting Things Done.” The “Beijing Trilogy” has been adapted into films and dramas respectively in China, and also been translated and published into different languages, such as English, Italian, and French. As a calligrapher, he has held his calligraphy exhibition called “Calligraphy as Oneness” and private exhibition “Feng Tang Land.” He also worked with Mont Blanc and created Mont Blanc Feng Tang Font.

Feng Tang earned an MBA from Emory University’s Goizueta Business School in 2000 and a medical degree from Peking Union Medical College in 1998.


2019Mabel Magowe 08PhD
2018Do Mai Hoa 02MPH
2017Kwadwo Sarpong 15C
2016Brett Pyper 00G
2015Joy Lawn 00PhD
2014Umesh Parashar 96MPH
2013Young-Ihl Chang 87G
2012Leila McWhinney-Dehaney 06PhD
2011Josep Call 97PhD
2010Lado Gurgenidze 93MBA
2009Han Wan-Sang 67PhD
2008David Tkeshelashvili 06LLM
2007Shariffa Al-Jabri 98MS
2006Manfred Asamer 86MBA
2005Moses Nayenda Katabrawa 97MPH
2004Hamish W. Taylor 84MBA
2003Eugenia Maria del Pino Ventimilla 72PhD
2002Hong Koo Lee 59C