Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award

The Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award, established by a generous gift from Madhu and Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, seeks to recognize Emory University's international alumni who are highly distinguished either nationally or internationally in their business, profession, or life’s work and who have made outstanding contributions to humanity, science, art, or human welfare.

Nominations for the 2017 international awards are now closed.

2016 Recipient: Brett Pyper 00G

Brett Pyper is head of the Wits School of the Arts at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa. An ethnomusicologist by training, Pyper was previously CEO of the Klein Karoo National Arts Festival and founding chair of the South African Society for Research in Music.

As a Fulbright Scholar at Emory, Pyper earned a Master’s of Arts in Culture, History, and Theory from Laney Graduate School’s Institute of Liberal Arts in 2000. Pyper earned his Ph.D. from New York University in ethnomusiciology.

Pyper’s academic work focuses on music and its intersection with society. His efforts have engaged people from all areas of society—scholars, artists, activists, and government officials—to advance South African public discourse, particularly around the complex issues of culture, history, and memory.

2015 Joy Lawn 00PhD
2014 Umesh Parashar 96MPH
2013 Young-Ihl Chang 87G
2012 Leila McWhinney-Dehaney 06PhD
2011 Josep Call 97PhD
2010 Lado Gurgenidze 93MBA
2009 Han Wan-Sang 67PhD
2008 David Tkeshelashvili 06LLM
2007 Shariffa Al-Jabri 98MS
2006 Manfred Asamer 86MBA
2005 Moses Nayenda Katabrawa 97MPH
2004 Hamish W. Taylor 84MBA
2003 Eugenia Maria del Pino Ventimilla 72PhD
2002 Hong Koo Lee 59C