Creekmore Award for Internationalization

The Marion V. Creekmore Award is given each year to an Emory faculty member who excels in the advancement of the University's commitment to internationalization. The award was established by the generous gift of Claus M. Halle and honors the work of Marion V. Creekmore, who served as Emory University's inaugural vice provost for international affairs and first director of The Claus M. Halle Institute for Global Learning.

Nominations for the 2017 international awards are now closed.

2016 Recipient: David Nugent

David Nugent is professor of anthropology and founding director of Emory’s Master’s in Development Practice (MDP) program, which combines cross-disciplinary academic study with field experience in global settings. In this role, he has expanded Emory’s network of strategic partnerships with leading international development organizations, including CARE, Oxfam, and Heifer International, as well as federal agencies such as the U.S. Agency for International Development. Last summer the program sent students abroad for 10-week field practicums with 21 organizations in 25 countries.

Nugent is also co-principal investigator of the Communities of Practice initiative at Emory’s Laney Graduate School, which began this fall. Funded by a grant from the Henry Luce Foundation, the pilot program aims to better incorporate global skills into doctoral education.

Nugent began his research career in the northern Peruvian Andes, where he studied regional patterns of economic growth and stagnation. Over the course of three decades, he has also conducted field research on the impact of land privatization on farming communities in Kenya, the environmental management practices of Inuit people in the Canadian arctic, and indigenous land and water rights in the western United States.

2015 Jeffrey Koplan
2014 Henry Blumberg
2013 Peter Brown
2012 Jagdish Sheth
2011 Lynn Sibley
2010 Alfred W. Brann, Jr.
2009 Juliette Stapnanian Apkarian
2008 Reynaldo Martorell
2007 Carlos del Rio
2006 Abdullahi An-Na'im
2005 Ivan Karp
2004 Thomas F. Remington
2003 H. Kenneth Walker
2002 Kenneth W. Stein
2001 Howard A. Rollins
2000 Marion V. Creekmore